the wallace art awards

Sir James Wallace established the Annual Art Awards in 1992. These Awards are the longest surviving and largest annual art awards of their kind in New Zealand, with a value amounting to over $275,000. The six winners receive valuable residencies at prestigious institutions in the US, Switzerland, Italy and Russia. Many of the winners’ and finalists’ artworks are purchased by the Trust each year to add to the Collection. Over the years some of New Zealand’s most prominent artists have entered and the residencies awarded to the winners have transformed their careers. Past winners have included Andy Leleisi’uao, Yuki Kihara, Mark Braunias and Judy Millar.

28th Annual Wallace Art Awards 2019 

Congratulations to our nine winners for 2019…

The Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award – Robert Jahnke
Kaipara Wallace Arts Trust Award – Tira Walsh (Whakaari)
The Wallace Arts Trust Vermont Award – Julia Holden
Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award – Campbell Patterson
British School at Rome Wallace New Zealand Residence Award – Wendelien Bakker
First Runner-up Award – Christine Jeffs
Second Runner-up Award – Grace Wright
Jury Award Joint Winners – Andrea du Chatenier, Andrew Rankin

The structure of the awards

Artists can submit work in the mediums of painting, sculpture, audio-visual, print, photography, drawings and interdisciplinary arts. The Wallace Art Awards consist of five residencies, three monetary prizes and one non-monetary prize.

The Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award
A six-month residency at the International Studio and Curatorial Program in New York City, USA. The ISCP is the premier residency-based contemporary art centre in the United States for emerging to mid-career artists and curators from around the world. This residency includes a studio, 24-hour access to ISCP’s facilities, support from on-site staff, the opportunity to attend lectures given by members of the New York arts community, field trips including out-of-town expenses, and a minimum of two open-studio exhibitions/receptions. The Paramount Award Winner also receives a bronze trophy by Terry Stringer. 

The Kaipara Wallace Arts Trust Award 
A three-month residency at Altes Spital in Solothurn, Switzerland. This residency includes a large studio apartment, access to specialist studios, workshops and exhibitions.

The Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award 
A ten-week residency at the Headlands Center for the Arts in San Francisco, USA.
Fulbright New Zealand was established in 1948 to promote mutual understanding through educational and cultural exchanges between New Zealand and the United States of America.

The BSR Wallace New Zealand Residence Award 
A three-month residency at the British School at Rome, Italy. This residency is an initiative driven by independent working artists and is designed to facilitate a unique opportunity for New Zealand artists in their early to mid-career stage. This residency was initiated by Enrica Sciarrino, Simon Ogden and Andrew Drummond.

The Wallace Arts Trust Vermont Award 
A three-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center in Vermont, USA. This includes a studio, living expenses, counsel from a distinguished roster of six visiting artists and the fellowship of professional peers from around the world. The Vermont Studio Center was founded by artists in 1984 and is the largest international artists’ and writers’ residency program in the United States.

Other Awards
1st Runners Up Award – $2,500
2nd Runners Up Award – $2,500
Jury Award – $1,000
Peoples’ Choice Award – $750

For further information please contact:
Matthew Wood
+64 9 639 2010 ext. 978

The Wallace Art Awards are proudly supported by: